The Korea-America Economic Association

Young Scholar Awards 2018

The Korea-America Economic Association (KAEA) is pleased to announce that Dr. Gee Hee Hong (IMF) and Karam Kang (Carnegie Mellon University) will receive the 2018 KAEA Young Scholar Awards for their outstanding professional achievement. The award ceremony will be held during the Annual Meeting of the KAEA at Marriott Philadelphia Downtown in Philadelphia, at 6:00 pm, on January 6, 2018. Congratulations!

Dr. Gee Hee Hong is an economist at the research department of the International Monetary Fund.  She received her Ph.D. in Economics from the University of California at Berkeley in 2012.  Her work focuses on inflation dynamics, transmission of monetary policy and various trade issues including exchange rate pass-through and global value chain.  She has several publications in journals like American Economic Review, Review of Economics and Statistics, International Economic Journal, etc.

Dr. Karam Kang is an assistant professor of economics at Tepper School of Business of the Carnegie Mellon University. She received her Ph.D. in Economics from University of Pennsylvania in 2012. Her field of research is political economy, industrial organization and environmental economics. She mainly works on structural estimation of game theoretical models (or principal-agent models) applied to lobbying, regulation, and procurement. She has published a single-authored paper in Review of Economic Studies, and has several working papers including one under revision for the Journal of Public Economics.

The KAEA appreciates the Award Nomination Committee (Drs. Chang-Jin Kim (Chair), Doh-Shin Jeon, and Sokbae Lee) for their valuable service for award nomination this year.