The Korea-America Economic Association

Blog Archives

Call for Papers (SEA-KAEA 2011)

The annual meeting of the Southern Economic Association will be held in Washington, DC at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, November 19-21, 2011 (Saturday to Monday). Following the SEA-KAEA tradition, KAEA plans to organize two sessions: one on South Korean Economy or East Asian Economies, and the other on North Korean Economy. I have noticed in the past several new faces attending our sessions every time papers on North Korea were presented. Those who are interested in topics unrelated to the two Koreas are also encouraged to submit papers or one-page paper abstracts.

Continue Reading…

Maekyung-KAEA Economist Award

Dr. Jay Pil Choi
(Professor, Department of Economics, Michigan State University)

Dr. Jay Pil Choi has been a professor of economics at Michigan State University sicne 2000. He previously was a faculty member at Seoul National University and Columbia University. He received his Ph. D. in economics from Harvard University in 1990. He is currently a co-editor of International Journal of Industrial Organization, an editorial board member of Information Economics and Policy, and an associate editor of e-conomics. He also served as an associate editor of European Economic Review. Continue Reading…

KAEA Young Scholar Award

Dr. Yongseok Shin
(Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, Washington University St. Louis)

Dr. Yongseok Shin received his Ph. D. in economics from Stanford University in 2004. He specializes in macroeconomics and his main areas of research interest include the optimal taxation and development of financial
intermediation. Continue Reading…

KAEA Election 2011

Dear KAEA member:

I am pleased to inform you that the following candidates have been elected. Please join us in congratulating our new Executive Committee and an Advisory Board member.

2011 Executive Committee Members
President-Elect: Dr. Byung-Joo Lee (University of Notre Dame)
Vice-President: Dr. Donghoon Lee (Federal Reserve Bank of New York)
Secretary General: Dr. Donggyu Sul (University of Texas at Dallas) for the term of 2011-13
Treasurer: Dr. Hyungsik “Roger” Moon (University of Southern California)

Advisory Committee Member
Dr. Hae-shin Hwang (Texas A&M University) for the term of 2011-13

On behalf of KAEA, I appreciate your participation in election, and hope to see you in Denver, Colorado next January.


Sunwoong Kim

KAEA Graduate Student Travel Support Scholarship Winners

Dear 2010-11 KAEA Graduate Student Travel Support Scholarship Winners,

Congratulations on being selected as one of the winners of 2010-11 KAEA Graduate Student Travel Support Scholarship.  The KAEA is very pleased to provide you with the travel support in the amount of $300 plus a lifetime membership of KAEA.  Here is information how and when you pick up the check in Denver, CO.

1. You should pick up the check in person at the Denver ASSA/KAEA meetings from Professor Hyeongwoo Kim, the KAEA Treasurer.  There is no exception.

2. Prof. Hyeongwoo Kim will distribute the checks at the KAEA Business Meeting on January 8, 6:00 p.m. at Silver Room 7, Sheraton Hotel. There will be a brief award ceremony and Prof. Hyeongwoo Kim will inform you more detail in a separate e-mail to you.

3. If your plan to attend the meeting changes, please let Prof. Hyeongwoo Kim at know immediately. Any other inquiries should be directed to Professor Young-Kyu Moh, Chair, The Student Travel Support Scholarship Committee, at

Congratulations again and we look forward to seeing you in Denver, CO, in January 2011.

Recipient List:

Kyu-Chul Jung (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Dongwoo Yoo (Ohio State University)
Kyoung Jin Choi (Washington University in St. Louis)
In Ho Song (Ohio State University)
Minki Kim (University of Chicago)
Bonsoo Koo (London School of Economics)
Frederick Dongchuhl Oh (Washington University in St. Louis)
Jinho Choi (Indiana University)
Min Seong Kim (UC San Diego)
Woonam Seok (Indiana University)
Gihoon Hong (University of Virginia)
Sung-Ha Hwang (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
Eun Seok Han (Indiana University)
Se Hoon Bang (Michigan State University)
Beom Tai Kim (SUNY Binghamton)
Heungju Park (Texas A&M University)
Jongwon Shin (Virginia Tech)
Chan Kwon Bae (Indiana University)
Youjin Hahn (UC San Diego)
Chulyoung Kim (UC San Diego)
Hee-Seung Yang (UC San Diego)
Sung Joo Yoon (Indiana University)
Dooyeon Cho (Michigan State University)

KAEA Program at ASSA 2011 (updated) in Denver, CO

Check out the updated KAEA Preliminary Program in Denver, Colorado on January 6-9, 2011.

kaea 2011 program

Biographical Sketch of the Candidate for Election 2011

Candidate for President-Elect
Dr. Byung-Joo Lee ( graduated from Seoul National University with B.A in 1980 and earned Ph.D at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1988. His teaching and research area in economics is econometric data analysis. He has written extensively on econometric theories and applied economics. Among his contributions to the econometric theory are non-parametric theory (Econometrica, 1992, Economics Letters, 1994, Journal of Quantitative Economics, 1994), nested Tobit model (Economic Letters, 1992, Review of Economics and Statistics, 1995) and the handling of missing response observations (Applied Economics Letters, 1998, Oxford Bulletin of Economics and Statistics, 2000). Continue Reading…